Important Dates

Jan 2015 – Dec 2015 Solemnities, Feasts, Important Church Dates and National Holidays


Solemnities

holy-family-basilica-eventsMary Mother of God, January 1| Epiphany of the Lord, January 4| Ash Wednesday, February 18| Joseph, Husband of Mary, March 19| Annunciation, March 25| Palm Sunday, March 29|

Holy Thursday, April 2| Good Friday, April 3| Easter Sunday – Resurrection of the Lord, April 5| Octave of Easter, April 6 – April 11| Sunday of Divine Mercy, April 12| Ascension of the Lord, May 14| Pentecost, May 24| Trinity Sunday, May 31

Corpus Christi, June 7| Most Sacred Heart of Jesus, June 12| Birth of John the Baptist, June 24| Paul & Peter, Ap, June 29| Assumption, August 15

All Saints Day, November 1| OUR LORD JESUS CHRIST, KING OF THE UNIVERSE, November 22|The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary, December 8| The Nativity of the Lord (Christmas), December 25


Feasts

Baptism of the Lord, January 11| Presentation of the Lord, February 2|

Mark, Evangelist, April 25| Thomas, Ap, July 3| James, Ap, July 25

Transfiguration, August 6| Saint Lawrence, Deacon and Martyr, August 10| Bartholomew, Ap, August 24| The Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary, September 8| The Exaltation of the Holy Cross, September 14| Saint Matthew, Apostle and Evangelist, September 21| Saints Michael, Gabriel and Raphael, Archangels, September 29| Saints Simon and Jude, Apostles, October 28| The Dedication of the Lateran Basilica, November 9| Andrew, Ap, November 30

Our Lady of Guadalupe, December 12| Saint Stephen, The First Martyr, December 26| THE HOLY FAMILY OF JESUS, MARY AND JOSEPH, December 27| The Holy Innocents, Martyrs, December 28

Holy Family, December 28


Dates to Note…

Every third Sunday of the month – Family life talks from 11.30 am in the Large Hall

 Saturday, May 23, Beatification of Sr. Irene Stefani “Nyaatha” – Mass at Dedan Kimathi University, Nyeri from 10.00am

Sunday, June 7, Charity visit to shade children’s home Kawangware from 12.00noon. The home is carrying out a self sustenance project and donations will go toward its construction.

Sunday, July 5, Parish Council Retreat

Sunday, August 2, Holy Family Basilica Harvest Sunday

Saturday, August 9, Archdiocese of Nairobi Family Day – Mass at St. Mary’s Ground from 10.00am


Public Holidays 2015

Thursday, January 1 – New Year’s Day| Monday, | Friday, April 3 – Good Friday| Monday, April 6 – Easter Monday

Friday, May 1 – Labour day| Monday, June 1 – Madaraka Day| Friday, July 17 – Eid al Fitr (May vary)|

Tuesday, October 20 – Mashujaa Day| Saturday, December 12 – Jamhuri Day| Friday, December 25 – Christmas Day| Saturday, December 26, Boxing Day